“Ocala Public Relations and Communications Professionals Win Awards”

Ocala, FL. (May 1, 2018)— The Ocala Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association congratulates several local professionals for excellence in public relations and communications. In all, nine Image awards were given to various professionals, and the 2018 Wilton F. Martin Communicators of the Year were named during the PaRade of Excellence event on Thursday, April 26 in Ocala.
Listed are the winners and their photos receiving their awards from FPRA Ocala Chapter President, Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC:
Ocala Broadcasting Corporation and CareerSource Citrus Levy Marion in the Community Relations category- Award of Distinction – 2018 Ocala Job Fair



Christy Jergens, APR and Florida Department of Health Marion County in the Crisis Communication category – Judges’ Award and an Award of Distinction – Marion Flu Shot Clinic











Devon Chestnut, APR, CPRC, Cox Southeast Region and the Cox One Team in the Internal category – Image Award – CoxOne Launch Campaign







Ginger Broslat Communications, KSC Incorporated, Digital Fury and Neptune Advertising in the Promotional Marketing category – Award of Distinction – 2017 FPRA Annual Conference








Vickie Pleus, APR, CPRC, and Rick Grinstead in the Special Events category – Judges’ Award – Keep St. Peter’s Beautiful Day






JJ Fields, Allison Campbell, APR, CPRC, Lauren Deiorio and the Public Education Foundation of Marion County in Division B, Other category – Award of Distinction – Coupons for Education







Marc Rice, Digital Fury, Cori Yarkin, John Tripodi and Ginger Broslat Communications in Division C, Video: Promotional / Marketing – Judges Award and Image Award – 2017 FPRA Annual Conference Video.






Also recognized on Thursday evening were the 2018 Wilton F. Martin Communicators of the Year.

Jim Ross, managing editor of the Ocala Star Banner, won the Individual Communicator of the Year.












Mojo Grill & Catering, Co.won the Institutional Communicator of the Year, accepted by owner Rondo Fernandez.






For only the second time in the chapter’s history, a Lifetime Achievement in Communications award was presented, to Toni James, APR, CPRC.

FPRA is dedicated to developing public relations practitioners, who, through ethical and standardized practices, enhance the public relations profession in Florida. FPRA is comprised of 15 professional and12 student chapters throughout the state, providing professional development, networking and professional recognition opportunities.

The Ocala FPRA Chapter,www.fpraocala.org, was established in1980.  Members and guests meet the third Friday of each month at 11:30 a.m. at the College of Central Florida.