Toni James, APR, CPRC, PACEsetter Awards

Toni James, APR, CPRC, PACEsetter Awards

Established during the 2004-2005 chapter year in honor of that year’s FPRA theme “Set the PACE (professional and career enhancement)”, the PACEsetter Award was developed to recognize a member who has demonstrated excellence and helped advance the chapter’s and state association’s mission. The chapter president chooses the recipient(s) and usually presents the recognition during the August professional development meeting.  In 2022, the chapter board voted unanimously to rename the award after Toni James, APR, CPRC, to honor and recognize the indelible mark she has left on the public relations profession, state association, Ocala Chapter and local community. James was a founding member of the Ocala Chapter in 1980 and twice served as president in 1985 and 1996.  

Chosen by the chapter president each year, if warranted, chapter members who have received this award have demonstrated their passion for the public relations profession, Ocala Chapter and state association, setting an example for other members in their participation of activities, such as website redesigns, membership campaigns, professional development overhauls, etc.

(pictured L-R: Heather Danenhower, APR, CPRC and Rachel Cote)

“I remember the surprise and honor of receiving the first PACEsetter Award in 2005. At the time, our theme was “Set the PACE” (professional and career enhancement). To receive this recognition from my peers is a privilege, and I’m so thankful I had the opportunity to serve as a chapter leader.” -Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC

Past Recipients:

  • 2023 Rachel Cote
  • 2022 Tina Banner, APR, CPRC; Beverly Brown, APR; and Tammy Gantt
  • 2021 No Recipient
  • 2020 No Recipient
  • 2019 Katie Hunnicutt
  • 2018 Ginger Broslat, APR, CPRC
  • 2017 Lauren Debick APR
  • 2016 No Recipient
  • 2015 Ginger Broslat. APR, CPRC
  • 2014 Lauren Deiorio & Carole Savage, APR, CPRC
  • 2013 No Recipient
  • 2012 John Podkomorski
  • 2011 Jenifer Lowe and Toni James, APR, CPRC
  • 2010 Mandy Wettstein, APR, CPRC
  • 2009 Laura Byrnes, APR, CPRC
  • 2008 Allison Campbell, APR, CPRC
  • 2007 Heather Danenhower, APR, CPRC
  • 2006 No Recipient
  • 2005 Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC