Joe Curley Rising Leader Award

The Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is intended to identify and honor up-and-coming individual FPRA members who demonstrate emerging leadership traits along with dedicated active involvement in FPRA chapter activities, programs, functions and events.

The goal of the award is to help recognize the personal dedication and engagement of members with two to five years of service and to help build a healthy leadership stream at the local chapter level.

The chosen honoree for the Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is selected from the Rising Leader class of that year. Membership into the Rising Leader class is determined by chapter nomination, one candidate per chapter. The honoree receives a $500 cash reward and a $1,000 FPRA state credit that the winner can use at his or her discretion for professional development seminars, workshops or Annual Conferences. All finalists for the award also receive a $150 state professional development credit.

Three scholarships will also be made available to members of the current year’s Joe Curley Rising Leader Class. First, one class member will receive a scholarship to participate in the current year’s LeadershipFPRA class. This will include a $500 travel stipend. Scholarships will also be made available to current-year Rising Leader Class members to achieve their APR (1 scholarship) or their CPRC (1 scholarship).


The Joe Curley Rising Leader Program is generously funded by Joe Curley, APR, CPRC.

Past Ocala Chapter Rising Leader Class Members:

  • 2023 Rachel Cote – Rising Leader Class State Winner for the APR Scholarship
  • 2022 Lindsay Tozer, FCRM
  • 2021 Kristina Donohue
  • 2020 Savannah Silliman
  • 2019 Heidi Gutierrez
  • 2018 Katie Hunnicutt
  • 2017 Lauren Debick, APR and Lindsay Tozer (recognized from the Nature Coast Chapter)
  • 2016 Lauren Delorio
  • 2015 Elaine McClain
  • 2014 Barbara Hernandez, APR, CPRC