PRestige August 2017


Conference Recap

36448901885_0c9fbcc65c_oThe 79th FPRA Annual Conference was a great opportunity for professional development, networking, and recognition.


The Ocala chapter took home the President’s Award for Financial Management and members of our chapter were awarded with Golden Image awards! Click here to see the winners from Golden Image.
Lauren Debick was also recognized as a Joe Curley Rising Leader and was the recipient of the Joe Curley Scholarship for LeadershipFPRA.
Many thanks to everyone who played a role in planning this, especially Ginger Broslat, APR, CPRC, VP of Annual Conference. For more photos from the event, click here.

Conference Blog

35637698683_46a763a777_oNot able to make it to conference? Get caught up on the presentations, awards, and events by visiting the FPRA blog. 

PResident's Perspective

Wow!  This year’s Annual Conference was incredible with speakers like LaurenDeiorio04PPAnn Rhoades, founder of People Ink. Ann gave insight on developing a customer-centric service in your organization and how it improves performance at every level.  We then were fortunate to hear from Scott Stanzel, director of corporate communications at Amazon who shared his expertise in consumer public relations, internal communications, & global operations and how it helped him develop effective management of relationships.
These are just two examples of the many dynamic speakers who presented at Annual Conference this year.  So if you missed out this year, start making plans to attend next year’s Annual Conference.  Don’t miss out!
The Ocala Chapter was also the recipient of the Financial Management award at the President’s luncheon.  Kudos to Allison Campbell, APR, CPRC for all the hard work this year in making sure we were fiscally sound.  We also had our very own Lauren Debick who was recognized at Conference as a Joe Curley Rising Leader and the recipient of the Joe Curley Scholarship for LeadershipFPRA.  Way to go Lauren!
Time has flown by as president of the Ocala Chapter.  I am excited to see the plans that Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC has in store as she takes the helm as Chapter President later this month.
It truly has been a pleasure serving my Ocala Chapter members as president and I feel blessed to have had the support of so many of our seasoned members to guide me through transition.  They are the backbone of the chapter and it is always nice to know you can count on them in time of need.  Finally, I am honored that each of you trusted me to lead over the past year and a half.  I have learned a great deal about FPRA and myself during that time.
Although I am stepping into my next role as immediate past president, please know that I am dedicated to seeing the Chapter grow.
Thank you all for all you do for the Ocala Chapter.  I can’t wait to see what we can do next!


August 18 Professional Development Luncheon


Topic: Installation of New Officers

Speaker: New State President, Ryan Gerds, APR, CPRC

Ryan Gerds, APR, CPRC has been a member of FPRA since 2005. He is a past president of the Ocala Chapter, and has served in several statewide leadership roles including VP of Accreditation and Certification, VP of Membership, and VP of Membership. Don’t miss this important meeting. The location is the Ewers Century Center Teleconference Room at CF.

Member Forum

downloadDid you know our chapter has a private member forum on Facebook? Click here to get access. Use this forum to share good news or press coverage, ask questions of your fellow chapter members, and/or to share information with each other.

2017-2018 Slate of Officers

Slate of Officers (voting)
President Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC
Immediate Past President Lauren Deiorio
President-Elect Lauren Debick
Secretary Mike Fallon
Treasurer Katie Hunnicutt
Communications Chair Ginger Broslat, APR, CPRC
Programs Chair Maclyn Walker
Committee Chairs (non-voting)
ACES Devon Chestnut, APR, CPRC
Technology/Newsletter/Social Media Starley Ard
Hospitality Christy Jergens, APR/Brenda Williams
Accreditation Kevin Christian, APR, CPRC
Toolkit Elaine McClain/Lila Ivey/Heather Carrow/Judi Zanetti
Image/Communicator of the Year Allison Campbell, APR, CPRC/Ginger Broslat, APR, CPRC/Joe Wallace/Kayla Hall Abdool
Community Service Anita Winter
Chapter Senior Advisors
Toni James, APR, CPRC Tina Banner, APR, CPRC
Laura Byrnes, APR, CPRC Carole Savage, APR, CPRC


July Meeting Highlights

IMG_1113Many thanks to Ann Christiano for her presentation on how to ask the right questions to get people to change their behavior and act on their beliefs. Our chapter also welcomed Heather James as a new member during the July meeting.

See more highlights in the gallery.

Newsletter Archive

2019 (8)

2018 (12)

2017 (12)

2016 (4)

2014 (1)

2013 (1)

2012 (1)

2011 (1)

2010 (1)

Leave a Reply

× two = 10