FPRA Ocala Chapter Calls for Entries for Communicator of the Year Award

Media Contact:
Danielle Veenstra
VP of Communications
M: 352.817.4327
[email protected]


Ocala, FL (JULY 2, 2024) – Celebrate excellence in communications with the Ocala Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA). The chapter announced a call for entries for the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year Awards on Monday, July 1. This prestigious award will be presented at the Annual Pass the Gavel Gala on August 30 at the Appleton Museum of Art.

Since 2005, the Communicator of the Year Awards have recognized individuals and institutions that have demonstrated excellence in strategic communications, contributing to the quality of life in Marion or Citrus counties. The awards are open to businesses, nonprofits, journalists, educators, community leaders, and professionals from allied fields such as advertising and marketing. Nominees do not have to be FPRA members but must exemplify the highest professional standards in the communications field.

Award Categories:

  • Individual Communicator of the Year: Recognizes a person who has used their position to enhance Marion or Citrus County’s community causes, advance the field of public relations, and uphold ethical standards.
  • Institutional Communicator of the Year: Honors an institution or media outlet that has gone above and beyond to provide timely, accurate, and critical information to the community, demonstrating mastery of communication skills and strategies.

Criteria for Nomination:

  • Represent the field of communications.
  • Be active in the Citrus or Marion County community and show how they use their position to make a difference.
  • Contribute to the public relations profession.
  • Uphold the ethics and values of FPRA.
  • Be nominated by a member of FPRA or the community (self-nominations are not accepted).

During the Pass the Gavel Gala, the chapter’s president, Lindsay Tozer, will also be awarding President’s Awards to outstanding chapter members and the Joe Curley Rising Leader Award.

Nominations for Communicator of the Year are now open. The deadline for entries is Friday, July 26. For more information and to submit a nomination, please visit our website: https://www.fpraocala.org/accreditation/communicator-of-the-year-awards/.