FPRA Ocala announces call for Communicator of the Year nominations

OCALA, FL — The Ocala Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) announces its Communicator of the Year awards and welcomes nominations from the community. Established in 2005 and renamed in 2011, the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year Awards recognize individuals and institutions who have demonstrated excellence in strategic communications to improve the quality of life in Marion County. Award recipients will be honored by FPRA Ocala at a luncheon in July.

Candidates do not have to be members of FPRA but must exemplify the highest professional standards in the communications field. Candidates may include journalists, educators, community/civic leaders and professionals from allied fields, including advertising and marketing. Nomination deadline is 6 p.m. on Thursday, July 3.

Awards are made in individual and institution categories. The Individual Communicator of the Year recognizes the person who uses his/her position to enhance Marion County’s community causes, advance the field of public relations and uphold the ethical standards representing the Ocala Chapter.

Institutional recognition honors the institution/media outlet that has gone above and beyond to provide timely, accurate and critical information to the community, and has demonstrated mastery of communications skills and strategies. The later recognition could be awarded based on year-round consistent effort or a singular outstanding example of communication during an emergency, or both.