The gala will be held Fri., April 24 at the

Appleton Museum of Art





Established in 2005 and renamed in 2011, the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year Awards recognize individuals and institutions who have demonstrated excellence in strategic communications to improve the quality of life in Marion County. Award recipients will be honored by the Ocala Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) in April at the FPRA Ocala Chapter Image and Communicator of the Year Awards Gala. Candidates do not have to be members of FPRA, but must exemplify the highest professional standards in the communications field. Candidates may include businesses, nonprofits, journalists, educators, community/civic leaders and professionals from allied fields, including advertising and marketing.


The Individual Communicator of the Year recognizes the person who uses his/her position to enhance Marion County’s community causes, advance the field of public relations and uphold the ethical standards representing the Ocala Chapter. Institutional recognition honors the Institution/Media Outlet that has gone above and beyond to provide timely, accurate and critical information to the community, and has demonstrated mastery of communications skills and strategies.

The institutional recognition could be awarded based on year-round consistent effort, a singular outstanding example of communication during an emergency or both.


Candidates for Communicator of the Year should:

  • Represent the field of communications.
  • Be active in the Ocala/Marion County community and show how they use their position to make a difference in the community.
  • Show how they contribute to the public relations profession; and
  • Uphold the ethics and values of FPRA.



  • Submit