Chapter Awards and Recognition

The FPRA Ocala Chapter bestows and receives recognition for excellence in advancing the profession of public relations.

Chapter Recognition

Each year at FPRA Annual Conference, the association president bestows chapter and individual awards. The FPRA Ocala Chapter and individual members have received the following accolades in recent years:

Year    Honor
2021   Carole Savage-Hagans, APR, CPRC, John W. Dillin Award, FPRA’s highest honor
2021   State President’s Award for Membership
2020   State President’s Award for Community Involvement
2019    State President’s Award for Smart, Engaged, Fun
2018    State President’s Award for Chapter of the Year
2018    State President’s Award for Promoting the Professional and FPRA
2018    Doris Fleischman Unsung Hero Award—Kevin Christian, APR, CPRC
2017    State Member of the Year—Ryan Gerds, APR, CPRC
2017    State President’s Award for Financial Management
2016    State President’s Award for Chapter of the Year
2015    State President’s Award for Financial Management
2014    State Member of the Year—Tina Banner, APR, CPRC
2014    State President’s Award of Communications
2013    State President’s Award for Professional Development
2012    State President’s Award for Accreditation and Credentials
2012    FPRE Foundation Hall of Fame Philanthropy Award
2011    State President’s Award for Member Services
2010   State President’s Award for Member Services
2009   Doris Fleischman Unsung Hero Award—Toni James, APR, CPRC
2009   Most Improved Chapter
2009   State President’s Award for Membership
2008   Past President’s Award—Carole Savage, APR, CPRC


Mid-Florida Image Awards

The FPRA Image Awards recognize the best in research, strategy, implementation and execution in the public relations profession. The FPRA Ocala Chapter holds the Mid-Florida Image Awards competition annually organizing and conducting workshops to assist participants from a three county area with preparing the best possible entries. The entries are submitted to another partnering chapter for judging. The process culminates with a gala celebration revealing the winners and bestowing the awards. This process is excellent preparation for the state association’s Golden Image Awards competition as results are received in time to improve entries to compete at the state level.

Explore Image Awards

Wilton F. Martin, Sr. Communicators of the Year

Established in 2005 and renamed in 2011, the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year awards recognize individuals and institutions who have demonstrated excellence in strategic communications to improve the quality of life in Marion or Citrus county.
Candidates do not have to be members of FPRA, but must exemplify the highest professional standards in the communications field. Candidates may include journalists, educators, community/civic leaders and professionals from allied fields, including advertising and marketing. The institutional recognition honors the institution/media outlet that has gone above and beyond to provide timely, accurate and critical information to the community, and has demonstrated mastery of communications skills and strategies.

Learn about Communicator of the Year

PACEsetter Awards

Established in 2004-2005 in honor of that year’s FPRA theme “Set the PACE (Professional and Career Enhancement”, the PACEsetter award was developed to recognize a member who had gone above and beyond their member duties to strengthen the chapter. The chapter president has the authority to choose the recipient or decide whether or not a member rises to the occasion for the honor to be bestowed that year.

Learn about PACEsetter

Joe Curley Rising Leader Award

The Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is intended to identify and honor up-and-coming individual FPRA members that demonstrate emerging leadership traits along with dedicated active involvement in FPRA Chapter activities, programs, functions and events.

The goal of the award is to help recognize personal dedication and engagement of members with two to five years of membership, and to help build a healthy leadership stream at the local chapter level.

View Past Winners