Heather Danenhower 5“Winning this award marks a significant transition in my career – a time when I first started to understand the difference between tactical public relations and strategic public relations that delivers results. To be recognized by my peers – my mentors – is one of the greatest honors of my career; it’s a recognition I hold dearly and strive to live up to every day.”

Heather Danenhower, APR, CPRC

Recipient of the first Communicator of the Year Award in 2005

Established in 2005 and renamed in 2011, the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year Awards recognize individuals and institutions who have demonstrated excellence in strategic communications to improve the quality of life in Marion County. Candidates do not have to be members of FPRA but must exemplify the highest professional standards in the communications field. Candidates may include journalists, educators, community/civic leaders and professionals from allied fields, including advertising and marketing.

2017 Recipients

Individual recipient, Dr. Manal Fakhoury


Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient, David Cook

Institutional Recipient, Heart of Florida Health Center’s Measure Up Marion Project

2016 Recipients

Individual recipient, Dave Schlenker, picture with Buddy Martin and Toni James, APR, CPRC.

Institutional recipient, the Silver Springs International Film Festival.

2015 Recipients

Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC receives her honor as the individual recipient from Gala Chair Barbra Hernandez APR.

Transitions Life Center Board Member Darren Ritch accepted the institutional honor from Gala Co-chair Ryan Kirby on behalf of the TLC Board of Directors and volunteers (attendees pictured below).

Team members from Transitions Life Center attended the 2015 Gala and were thrilled to accept the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year as well as four Image Awards.

Congratulations to our 2014 Winners

Pictured above, Laura Byrnes, APR, CPRC receives her honor from Chapter President Kevin Christian APR, CPRC. To the right, Lila Ivey and Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC proudly display Hospice of Marion County’s award as the institutional recipient.

2013 Winners

Individual Recipient

Pamela Calero, City of Ocala is awarded the Individual Communicator of the Year by Ocala Chapter President Carole Savage, APR, CPRC.


Institutional Recipient

Marion County Public Library System