The Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is intended to identify and honor up-and-coming individual FPRA members that demonstrate emerging leadership traits along with dedicated active involvement in FPRA Chapter activities, programs, functions and events.

The goal of the award is to help recognize personal dedication and engagement of members with two to five years of membership, and to help build a healthy leadership stream at the local chapter level.

The chosen honoree for the Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is selected from the Rising Leader Class of that year. Membership into the Rising Leader Class is determined by chapter nomination, one candidate per chapter. The honoree receives a $500 cash reward and a $1,000 FPRA state credit that the winner can use at his or her discretion for professional development seminars, workshops or Annual Conference. All finalists for the award also receive a $150 state professional development credit.

Three scholarships will also be made available to members of the current year’s Joe Curley Rising Leader Class. First, one class member will receive a scholarship to participate in the current year’s LeadershipFPRA class. This will include a $500 travel stipend. Scholarships will also be made available to current-year Rising Leader Class members to achieve their APR (1 scholarship) or their CPRC (1 scholarship.)

The Joe Curley Rising Leader Program is generously funded by Joe Curley, APR, CPRC.

Past Ocala Chapter Rising Leader Class Members:

Year        Recipient

2021        Kristina Donohue

2020        Savannah Silliman

2019        Heidi Gutierrez

2018        Katie Hunnicutt

2017        Lauren Debick, APR and Lindsey Tozer (recognized from the Nature Coast Chapter)

2016        Lauren Delorio

2015        Elaine McClain

2014        Barbara Hernandez, APR, CPRC

2013        No Recipient

2012        No Recipient