The FPRA Ocala Chapter bestows and receives recognition for excellence in advancing the profession of public relations.

Mid-Florida Local Image Awards – The FPRA Ocala Chapter holds a local Image Awards competition annually. Chapter leaders organize and conduct workshops to assist members and guests with preparing the best possible entries. The entries are submitted to another partnering chapter for judging. The process culminates with a gala celebration revealing the winners and bestowing the awards. This process is excellent preparation for the state association’s Golden Image Awards competition as results are received in time to improve entries to compete at the state level.

Wilton F. Martin, Sr. Communicators of the Year – Established in 2005 and renamed in 2011, the Wilton F. Martin Communicator of the Year awards recognize individuals and institutions who have demonstrated excellence in strategic communications to improve the quality of life in Marion County.

Candidates do not have to be members of FPRA, but must exemplify the highest professional standards in the communications field. Candidates may include journalists, educators, community/civic leaders and professionals from allied fields, including advertising and marketing.

Awards are made in individual and institution categories. The Individual Communicator of the Year recognizes the person who uses his/her position to enhance Marion County’s community causes, advance the field of public relations and uphold the ethical standards representing the Ocala Chapter.

The institutional recognition honors the institution/media outlet that has gone above and beyond to provide timely, accurate and critical information to the community, and has demonstrated mastery of communications skills and strategies. The later recognition could be awarded based on year-round consistent effort or a singular outstanding example of communication during an emergency, or both.

Past Recipients:

Year Individual Recipient Lifetime Achievement Recipient Institutional Recipient
2021 Lauren DeIorio Buddy Martin Ocala Metro Chamber & Economic Partnership
2019  Jacob Fields Heart of Florida Health Center
2018 Jim Ross Toni James, APR, CPRC Mojo Grill & Catering
2017 Dr. Manal Fakhoury David Cook Heart of FL Health Center’s Measure Up Marion Project
2016 Dave Schlenker Silver Springs International Film Festival
2015 Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC Transitions Life Center
2014 Laura Byrnes, APR,CPRC Hospice of Marion County
2013 Pamela Calero Marion County Public Library System
2012 Mandy Wettstein, APR, CPRC Munroe Regional Medical Center
2011 Buddy Martin Ocala/Marion County Chamber of Commerce
2010 Brad Rogers Workforce Connection
2009 Allison Campbell, APR, CPRC Ocala/Marion County Economic Development Corporation
2008 Dr. Charles Dassance Marion County Fire Rescue
2007 Tina Banner, APR, CPRC Marion County Public Schools
2006 Kevin Christian, APR, CPRC Ocala Style magazine
2005 Heather Danenhower, APR Ocala Star Banner

PACEsetter Award – The FPRA Ocala Chapter theme for 2004-2005 was Set the PACE (Professional and Career Enhancement). The theme was intended to encourage members to invest in their own career development by stronger participation in chapter activities. The same year, an honor was developed to recognized the member who had gone above and beyond their member duties to strengthen the chapter. The chapter president has the authority to choose the recipient or decide whether or not a member rises to the occasion for the honor to be bestowed that year.

Past Recipients:

Year Recipient
2019 Katie Hunnicutt
2018 Ginger Broslat, APR, CPRC
2016-2017 Lauren Debick
2015 Ginger Broslat, APR, CPRC
2014 Lauren DeIorio and Carol Savage, APR, CPRC
2013 No Recipient
2012 John Podkomorski
2011 Jenifer Lowe and Toni James, APR, CPRC
2010 Mandy Wettstein, APR, CPRC
2009 Laura Byrnes, APR, CPRC
2008 Allison Campbell, APR, CPRC
2007 Heather Danenhower, APR, CPRC
2006 No Recipient
2005 Lisa Varner, APR, CPRC

FPRA Ocala Chapter Recognition


Each year at FPRA Annual Conference, The Association president bestows chapter and individual awards. The FPRA Ocala Chapter and individual members have received the following accolades in recent years:

Year Honor
2019 State President’s Award for Smart, Engaged, Fun
2018 State President’s Award for Chapter of the Year
2018 State President’s Award for Promoting the Professional and FPRA
2018 Doris Fleischman Unsung Hero Award—Kevin Christian, APR, CPRC
2017 State Member of the Year—Ryan Gerds, APR, CPRC
2017 State President’s Award for Financial Management
2016 State President’s Award for Chapter of the Year
2015 State President’s Award for Financial Management
2014 State Member of the Year—Tina Banner, APR, CPRC
2014 State President’s Award of Communications
2013 State President’s Award for Professional Development
2012 State President’s Award for Accreditation and Credentials
2012 FPRE Foundation Hall of Fame Philanthropy Award
2011 State President’s Award for Member Services
2010 State President’s Award for Member Services
2009 Doris Fleischman Unsung Hero Award -Toni James, APR, CPRC
2009 Most Improved Chapter
2009 State President’s Award for Membership
2008 Past President’s Award – Carole Savage, APR, CPRC